Vegan Kale Wrap – Gluten Free

One thing that I love about making “Kale Salad” – (recipe to come soon) is that I can prepare it at the beginning of a week, perhaps on a Sunday and create many different variations for meals. Kale Salad is my starter or filler in many of my dishes during the week so its imperative that it is prepared and ready for me to use.

Gluten Free Brown rice wrap with veggies and hummus (Kale Taco)
The Hummus and kale go so great together. On a crisp brown tortilla wrap by "Food for Life"

I just don’t care to spend hours in the kitchen everyday and with this “Konscious Kitchen” staple – on those tired days, I don’t have to.

Today was one of those days and it was also a day where I knew I needed to start to use some specific things in my Konscious fridge because if not – they would start to go bad and waste my money – (great motivator for me)…

Pea Shoots on Vegan Kale Wrap
Close up of Pea Shoots - my new Favorite Sprout to eat.

I grabbed my trust worthy Kale salad, a gluten-free brown rice tortilla by “Food for Life” – available at whole foods and Trader Joe’s. and a few other veggies that were literally within arms reach. Once your Konscious Kitchen is set up with the basics – it makes food prep very easy.

So what did I need to grab and start consuming ASAP? The Pea shoots that I picked up? Hmmm – and I had one Campari tomato left – love those too much to let them rot. The Pea shoots I grabbed from the Market as I had never tasted them before, so I wasnt sure how it was going to taste on the wrap but what the heck…

After eating them boy am I glad I decided to try something new!

According to the Pea Shoots nutrition page @ http://www.peashoots.com/peashoots-nutrition.htm

Pea shoots are a salad staple in Great Britain and they are packed with vitamins like Folic Acid, and Vitamins A and C. Pea Shoots taste amazing and after tasting just one I thought of how many things these would taste amazing with – give them a try.

So here is the recipe for my Vegan Kale Wrap – which is also Gluten free and about 50% Raw.

  • Food for life Gluten-Free “Brown Rice” Tortilla
  • Daiya “Cheez” Shreds
  • Homemade Hummus (recipe to come soon – you can use store bought hummus too)
  • Kale Salad
  • Pea Shoots
  • Tomato
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt (I use Himalayan Pink Salt – you can use any salt)
  • Black Pepper

Take the tortilla and spray or drizzle with Olive oil  – top with Daiya Cheez Shreds and place into the broiler on high for about 2 minutes (until cheez is melted and tortilla is just getting golden around edges.

Top with a dollop of hummus and spread over tortilla

Add Kale Salad, Pea Shoots and top with tomato, salt and pepper.

Fold it in half like a Taco – its crunchy on the outside and perfect. Here is how mine looked at the end

Image

Enjoy!

Konscious Eater

 

Leave a Reply

