Quick Vegan Cilantro Bean Soup – Gluten Free!

WOW. Today after I was about half way through my daily dose of (64 ounces) of green smoothie I wanted something nice and solid for an early lunch. And… I wanted something warm. Where I live it is about 55 degrees and quite breezy out – house is chilly and the thought of a meal that was cold and 100% raw – make my bones shiver thinking about. I love raw food, don’t get me wrong, and the benefits of eating a high raw diet but, perfectly honest here – no matter what the 100% Raw Food Guru’s tell you or try to convince you of – Your body is colder than it was before eating raw, I actually watched a YouTube video of a Raw Guru (I wont say his name) but he says that he believes this “coldness” is psychological. Yeah…I respectfully and completely DISAGREE.

It is not easy getting through the Winter months feeling totally warm in the winter time – but I cannot wait for Summer to arrive because while others are hot and sweating – I think i will be basking in the warm sun, loving it.

I digress. I made a soup today – it took 5 minutes because I just grabbed what I had, you’ll have to excuse the photo quality of this, I really didn’t care – I was so HUNGRY!:

It was so good - I just wanted to eat. I didn't really focus on bringing out the bright green color in this soup. Delicious!

What you will need:

  • 1 can Organic Black beans (Trader Joe’s for about $1.50)
  • Garlic Powder to taste
  • I cup Cilantro (fresh)
  • Olive oil to taste
  • Sea Salt

That’s all Folks!

Take the Cilantro and add about 1/4 cup of water and another 1/4 cup of olive oil and zip it in the Blender (I used a Vitamix but any blender will work). Set that aside and drain your black beans off (mostly) and add them to a small pot, add Garlic powder, Sea Salt and let cook for about 3 minutes – once they are bubbling take the cilantro and pour over the soup and mix and warm 1 more minute – Done!

DO YOU SEE ME IN THE SPOON?

 

I had absolutely no Garnish for this but I th0ught some sliced avocado or chopped tomato and onions would have been fantastic. Or even a dash of Salsa. Unlike the photo – the soup will have a Bright vibrant green base.

Enjoy!

Konscious Eater

Leave a Reply

