Vegan Minestrone

“It warms your bones feeds your organs and feeds your soul at the same time. This is healthy comfort food, I hope it can become a favorite in your family as it has in ours.”

When I decided to give a shot at minestrone I definitely had my preferences. I don’t think I have ever been to two restaurants that make this classic Italian stew the same. I have had minestrone that has a very thick tomato base and tastes almost like tomato soup, I have had it with or without pasta, some with chicken added, but cannot remember ever enjoying any of them. Then, I tried a minestrone at a favorite restaurant of mine, (its mainly my favorite because it is more on the commercial side, but uses local fresh organic ingredients and they have an abundance of plant based options) and finally enjoyed the soup.

IMG_5198

I took what I liked about their soup and made it my own, this minestrone is PACKED with vegetables, that’s the best part of it, it is a thick, hearty and tasty vegetable stew, it is grain/pasta free so no gluten, the base is vegan, and I have added red and white beans to make it higher in protein and extra filling. My husband and I love to settle in with this bowl of soup on a cold day, sit by a warm fire and take it all in. It warms your bones feeds your organs and feeds your soul at the same time. This is healthy comfort food, I hope it can become a favorite in your family as it has in ours.

Konscious Minestrone, What you need:

  • “Better than bouillon” vegetable base (4 tablespoons or to taste)
  • 1 can organic tomato paste
  • 4 medium or 3 large organic zucchini
  • 2 cups fresh broccoli (cut into smaller whole pieces – I don’t chop, the idea is to have large pieces of vegetables).
  • 4 stalks of celery (chopped)
  • 1 cup of baby carrots (grinded in food processor or finely chopped by hand)
  • 1 small onion
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  •  1 can White Cannelloni Beans (rinsed)
  • 1 can Red Kidney Beans (rinsed)
  • 3-4 tablespoons of no salt seasoning (I used the organic no salt seasoning from Costco, Mrs. Dash should work as well)
  • 1-2 tablespoons dried oregano
  • 1-2 tablespoons dried basil
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 Tsp Thyme
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil (to taste)
  • 6-8 cups water
  • 3 cups of leafy greens (Kale, Swiss Chard, Spinach etc, cut into bit sized pieces)

To start boil 6-8 cups of water in a large soup pot. Warm olive oil in saute pan on medium/high heat and take the copped carrot, celery, onion and saute (sweat) until the vegetables are soft and translucent. Add garlic and saute for 3 more minutes. Add mixture to boiled water (reduce the heat to low medium once water starts to boil), add vegetable bouillon base, and ALL seasonings No salt seasoning, Basil, oregano, thyme, garlic powder, tomato paste, salt, pepper and 2 cans of beans and stir well.

Once the base is created; with the beans and the bouillon is fully integrated into the soup, you can add zucchini (cut into medium bite-sized pieces), and broccoli and let this cook for about 10 minutes (until veggies are just tender). Then add a handful of your favorite greens (I use a mixture of baby kale, chard and spinach) but you can use anything you want. Cook for about 5-7 more minutes letting it simmer slowly and it is ready to eat.

We hope you enjoy this heart warming soup.

IMG_5204

-Konscious Kitchen

One Comment Add yours

  1. repsof33@yahoo.com says:

    Hi its Rochard the Goodwill guy 🙂 I am Loving your sight. I have tried several of these recipes in the past in my Low Carb dieting, however mine didn’t look have as good as yours. I look forward to trying many of these. Hope you enjoy the plates.

Leave a Reply

